It seems you’re using a browser that is a little past its time and our website might not be able to perform as it should.

If you’d like to have the best experience on, you can easily update your browser to get the most out of our website and many more for that matter.

dismiss this message

Search Events

Search Events

Edo De Waart - Conductor
Ronald Brautigam - Piano

Mozart Piano Concerto No 24 in C minor
Elgar Symphony No.1 in A-flat major

In the last of New Zealand Symphony Orchestra's (NZSO) Masterworks series, Maestro Edo de Waart continues his season of great works with a programme of Mozart and Elgar.

In the Piano Concerto No. 24 in C minor, Mozart maintained a fuller orchestra than usual, scoring extra woodwind, trumpets and timpani. When this larger ensemble is pitted against the piano soloist the result is a work of intense drama and tragic pathos.

In the hands of the Dutch piano virtuoso and Mozart specialist, Ronald Brautigam, this concerto will be sublime.

Elgar was also a brilliant dramatist, and his Symphony No. 1 is an intriguing study of contrasts. In this impressive work you'll hear Maestro de Waart guide the NZSO through the composer’s stately and moving melodies interspersed with outbursts of chromatic agitation and heaving storms of sound.

Concert duration: Approx. 1 hr 40 min

View this event on Eventfinda

Book now
  • Show nearby
  • Close
  • Show nearby