Players compete in a maul during the Rugby World Cup 2021 Final match between New Zealand and England at Eden Park on November 12, 2022 in Auckland, New Zealand.

WXV 1 Tournament

  • Venue

    Sky Stadium

  • Price

    From $25 adult, $10 child

  • Website

    WXV Rugby

Watch the world’s women’s rugby superstars in action when they take the field in Wellington this October.

The inaugural WXV 1 tournament will see Rugby World Cup champions the Black Ferns and five other international teams play. The tournament is an exciting addition to the women’s rugby calendar.

Participating teams feature the top three World Rugby Pacific Four Series teams, New Zealand, Canada and Australia. Also playing are the top three Six Nations teams, England, France and Wales.

They will play nine tests between 20 October and 4 November in Wellington, Dunedin and Auckland.

The first Friday night test between Australia and England kicks off at Wellington’s Sky Stadium on 20 October. The following day there’s a doubleheader — Wales faces Canada in the afternoon and New Zealand plays France in the evening.

Off the back of the Rugby World Cup 2021 (played in 2022), the tournament will act as a springboard for teams eyeing the next World Cup in 2025. It will also help to expand the women’s rugby global fanbase.

So gather the whānau and take the opportunity to watch the Black Ferns and other world-class players in action on home soil.